Parachute Regimental Association

Aldershot Branch

On 22 June 1940 Prime Minister Winston Churchill wrote a minute to the British Chiefs of Staff directing the setting up of a Corps of Parachute soldiers. Number 2 Commando began parachute training at Ringway near Manchester the following month.


By 1944 the 1st Allied Airborne Corps, which included the American 82nd and 101st Airborne Divisions had become a formidable Force

The British Units involved were


1st Airlanding Brigade

1st Bn The Border Regiment.

2nd Bn The South Staffordshire Regiment.

2nd Bn Oxford and Bucks Light Infantry

 1st Bn Royal Ulster Rifles

7th Bn King’s Own Scottish Borderers

1st Airlanding Light Battery RA:

1st Airlanding AT Battery RA

9th Field Coy RE

1st Airlanding Recce Sqn:

1st Airlanding Bde Gp Coy RASC

181st Field Ambulance


4th Parachute Brigade

156th Parachute Bn:

10th Parachute Bn:

11th Parachute Bn:

1st Parachute Brigade

1st Bn Parachute Regiment:

2nd Bn Parachute Regiment:

3rd Bn Parachute Regiment:

4th Parachute Bn: 1

17th Bn Parachute Regiment:

1st Parachute Sqn RE:

16th Parachute Field Ambulance

B’ Coy, 13th Bn Parachute Regiment:

1st Royal Dragoons {armoured cars}

2nd Bn KRRC {motor bn}


1st Airborne Division

1st  Parachute Brigade

2nd Parachute Brigade

3rd Parachute Brigade

4th Parachute Brigade

1st Airlanding Brigade

Attached Units:


1st Polish Independent Para Brigade

1st Wing Glider Pilot Regiment

2nd Wing Glider Pilot Regiment


Glider Pilot Regiment




The Current members of the Aldershot PRA represent  Airborne Units picked from All branches of the British Army